5 Jean Auel Paperbacks Earths Children Series The Valley of Horses The Mammoth Hunter


1 in stock

Categories: , ,


Five books by Jean M. Auel from her Earth’s Children series. All are paperbacks, and all range in condition from good to very good, with moderate wear; all have been previously read, I took pictures using different lighting effects to give you a good idea of what they look like.


Earth’s Children is a series of prehistorical fiction novels, set circa 30,000 years ago. The series is set in Europe during the Upper Paleolithic era, after the date of the first ceramics discovered, but before the last advance of glaciers. The books focus on the period of co-existence between Cro-Magnons and Neanderthals.

As a whole, the series is a tale of personal discovery: coming-of-age, invention, cultural complexities, and, beginning with the second book, explicit romantic sex. It tells the story of Ayla, an orphaned Cro-Magnon girl who is adopted and raised by a tribe of Neanderthals and who later embarks on a journey to find the Others (her own kind), meeting along the way her romantic interest, Jondalar. The story arc in part comprises a travel tale, in which the two lovers journey from the region of Ukraine to Jondalar’s home in what is now France, along an indirect route up the Danube River valley. In the third and fourth works, they meet various groups of Cro-Magnons and encounter their culture and technology. The couple finally return to southwestern France and Jondalar’s people in the fifth novel. The series includes a highly detailed focus on botany, herbology, herbal medicine, archaeology and anthropology, but it also features substantial amounts of romance.

Please note: Cheaper media mail shipping is also available for this book, just select media mail as your shipping option.

Additional information

Weight 79 oz
Dimensions 10 × 10 × 3 in